Also, happy Christmas

DSC01171.JPG

Since I started studying in Turkey, I have not been able to spend Christmas break with my family… because it doesn’t exist! December’s have been a real struggle for me since I’m so used to being at home with my mum, dad and sister. I always loved this time of year and I still do, but now that I don’t really have it I feel lonely I guess. So, I hope that all of you were lucky enough to be with your loved ones this Christmas and that you were very, very merry! Here’s a throwback to the last Christmas break I spent with my family 2 years ago in my final year of high school.

Merry Christmas everyone!

2 thoughts on “Also, happy Christmas

  1. Loneliness seems to be an essential requirement of Christmas brought on by longing for some ideal life/relationship/home situation that exists only in dreams.

    My mum has been in a care facility for almost three years now. Although that may sound harsh, I was lucky to have spent Christmas morning with her this year. She had caught pneumonia on Dec.4th, the second time this year, and I thought I was going to lose her. But she’s tough and survived.

    So, feel lonely, that’s okay. Your family is probably missing you, too. And, if you think about it, that’s kinda nice.

    Merry Christmas and have a Happy New Year.

    • In Turkish when somebody is not well in terms of health or has recently recovered from something we say, “gecmis olsun”. It is supposed to be the equivalent of “get well soon” but it’s much better than that you see because it literally translates as “let it be gone/history” or “let it have passed”. So, gecmis olsun. I am glad that you both survived the difficulties you were faced with.
      Thanks, I wish the same to you 🙂

Leave a Reply

