“My thoughts are stars I can’t fathom into constellations”

I’ve been sick for the past five days and sitting in my bed, cruising on the internet, sleeping and reading has become quite routine.
Yesterday I decided to pick up The Fault In Our Stars by John Green (I know, I should have done so earlier). It had been sitting on my bookshelf since the beginning of summer but with all the Conrad and Shakespeare reading for my English and Advanced English courses, I just never got around to it.
I wish I could rewind to yesterday, pick up the book for the first time, and read it (again) for the first time. I don’t know what kind of magic Green used on this book but it really worked. I am honestly quite speechless. I read it non-stop, without putting it down a single time (okay, there was the odd bathroom break, but still).
As soon as I read the first page, I knew that I would be shedding tears over this book, yet it surprised me. Yes, Green did have me tearing up more than once but he also had me smiling, laughing and giving me that warm and fuzzy feeling in my heart. As Markus Zusak quite rightly said, “You laugh, you cry and then you come back for more”. Reading the last page, I almost did not want to leave the life of Hazel Grace, but every story has an ending and, I quote Hazel Grace here, “Forever is an incorrect concept.” Yet, Green still did manage to show me that some infinities are greater than others… and I certainly am grateful for the brief little infinity of The Fault In Our Stars.

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on ““My thoughts are stars I can’t fathom into constellations”

  1. Great blog! 🙂 Follow me back for book reviews, author interviews, beauty tips & articles on life, relationships, career & travel, plus my life in Ibiza 😀 http://www.sophiavalentine1.wordpress.com x

Leave a Reply

