Aloha Summer.

Having finished my exams and come to an end of another school year, I think it’s appropriate to give summer a proper welcome.
It’s been two days now since I’ve had no real commitments and no studying to do but it sort of just feels like it’s a weekend. I’m hoping I don’t wake up at 7am tomorrow and start getting ready for school.

As far as my summer plans go, I haven’t really got any. Next week today I’ll be getting ready to enjoy myself at Rock Werchter (a music festival, here in Belgium). I’m praying that the weather will be nice, because right now it is miserable. After for smelly days in a tent at an amazing festival, I’ll stick around in Brussels for a week or so then fly off to Turkey, as per usual.

I can’t decide whether to look forward to it or not. All I really want to do is sit by the poolside in my bikini with a book and enjoy the sun endlessly. I have a pretty large pile of books to read and I’m hoping to reach the end of it by the end of August. ‘The end of August’, that sounds so far, but so near. I fear that summer will pass all too quickly, just as this school year did and pretty soon I’ll be back to my daily routine and starting my final year at school. That gives me the shivers. In a year from now, I’ll be finishing up my baccalaureate and getting ready for a brand new life. I look forward to it all, but it just scares me so much! There’s so much I don’t know. But I better not dwell on it now… I’m sure there will be dozens of posts related to my fear of the future as of next September. Let’s get back to summer.

So, the weather is miserable in Brussels, but I’m looking forward to long summer days and sunny beaches (as well as lots and lots of reading) in Turkey. I can’t wait to go to my summer house and enjoy waking up to the sound of the soft breeze brushing through the leaves of the willow trees, then falling asleep beneath the stars to the music of cicadas! I can take out my bike and cycle to the nearby village… pick some fresh summer vegetables from the gardens and just enjoy every bit of nature that is inaccessible in a city like Brussels. I’m also hoping to switch my creativity on, and maybe get writing a little bit. I feel like I’m only capable of formulating sentences that actually make sense when I’m away from the stress of school and homework. Just thinking about it makes me feel relaxed. Summer 2013 had better live up to my expectations because it’s practically my last before university!

I’ll keep you all updated with what I am up to, where I’m at and how things are going. Hopefully, I’ll be posting more songs of the week and getting back on track with my not-a-journal. Expect a post upon my return from the festival and perhaps a couple more in between. I hope your summers will be as wonderful.

ALOHA SUMMER 2013 🙂 

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

