Overcrowded.

So, having newly started my 2012-2013 school year, I’d like to bring to the light a HUGE issue in my school. It’s overcrowded. I don’t just mean, the corridors are stuffed, there’s no where to go where you can feel less highlighted, or everywhere you go there are people: it’s crowded. I mean factually overcrowded. Overcrowded to the point that they have had to create a mixed boy-girl gym class. And I’m in that mixed class. And I think it’s wrong. Not wrong ethically but wrong biologically.  We can be as mature as we like, but at the end of the day we have different bodies, and there’s not a hell of a lot of things we can do to change our stamina. To me it’s only logical that most of the girls do not perform to the same standards as the guys. But apparently, it’s not so logical to my gym teacher (who is also male). We’re constantly graded less because we are compared and contrasted with the boys. To me this is not fair which ever way you pull it. It’s not fair to the girls that they should be thought less of because the boys are better and it’s not fair to the guys that they should be seen as  ‘more than’ because of the girls.  But the school can’t deal with this teeny tiny issue because it probably has another 2000 people to deal with until it comes to 11 girls who are in a mixed gym class. The little motivation I had for gym class (and don’t get me wrong, I love my exercise but sports in school is a whole other ‘thing’) has now completely vanished thanks to my schools kind and thoughtful classifications.

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “Overcrowded.

  1. floodedroses says:

    Yeah, my school is the same. Except with the whole ‘mixed’ PE classes..It just that in the hallways its as if no one actually moves since their are so much people..

Leave a Reply

